Advanced Dialogue Box

There are a number of features of Penfriend XL which you can change to suit your preferences but which you are unlikely to want to modify. These include the way Penfriend XL communicates with other programs, and secondary aspects of the appearance of the windows.

The option Slow Typing refers to the communication between Penfriend XL and your word processor when you choose a prediction from the list, or type a punctuation mark with Smart Punctuation switched on.  If you find the last few letters of long predictions being missed out, or smart-punctuation not working properly, you should switch Slow Typing on and try again.

Duplicate delay controls recognition of repeat pressing of the same key.  If the number is high then the second press will not be recognised. If double letters are a problem increase the number but if it is too high then intentional presses may be ignored.

When you launch Penfriend XL for use, it normally loads the same lexicon file it was using the last time you quit it (for the same Windows  user). This is intended to make it easy to keep a personal lexicon. However, if you have several people using the same computer as the same username, or not in Windows NT (etc), this may be unhelpful. In that case, switch off the 'Load Previous Lexicon' option to prevent any lexicon from being loaded at start-up time.

The next time the program is loaded a message will appear in the prediction window saying that there is no lexicon, and clicking in that window will bring up the 'open default lexicon file' dialogue box (there should be an option on the left to go to My Documents, where personal
lexicons are stored).

The option Save on Exit lets you choose whether the lexicon will be updated automatically with words that you have used or not. It is recommended that you keep this feature switched on. If it is on, the lexicon including new words that you have taught the system (simply by using them) and changes in the relative frequencies of words used (again, observed from their being typed) are recorded when you quit Penfriend XL. If not, you must explicitly save the lexicon from the menu.

It is important that you quit Penfriend XL properly instead of simply switching off your machine. The best way is to choose 'Exit' from the 'File' menu in the control window or from the system menu of most of the other windows.

When reading back from the Clipboard, typing with the keyboard or viewing the predictor window you may want to control the colour and intensity of the highlighting. If so switch off automatic highlighting and adjust the colours to your liking.

You can control the line spacing between words in the prediction window with the line spacing option. This should normally be 120, meaning that between each line of text there is a gap of 20% of the font size. If you wish the words to be more widely spaced, increase this value. A value of less than 100 is probably not useful, although it may help to save screen space.

If you are visually impaired and using a large font you can also use this large font on the keyboard. To do this switch on Use main font in Keyboard window. With a large font you will need to make the keyboard larger by dragging one of the corners.

Allow mouse clicks in other windows helps Penfriend XL to continue predicting text while you are using the mouse. If you use another on-screen keyboard (apart from Penfriend XL's), then Penfriend XL would normally consider each click in it to be a change of writing context, and would therefore cancel any predicted words. This would not help you to write. This option is most useful with Clicker.

Learn First Word after Mouse Click is suitable for people clicking with their mouse a lot compared to the speed of their writing. Normally, Penfriend XL would not learn the first word written after a mouse click, in case it was a partial word and the click had been to move the cursor. If the first word was important, it would be wasted. This option tends towards assuming that people write whole words rather than partial words.

See also:
- Personalised Settings.
- Main Preferences.